agenda

concerts
lectures
guided tours
come and play
brunch

concerts

Tuesday, 15 May | 12.30 – 13.30 | Jazz and Light Music
Rex Lawson (UK), pianola

The hey-day of the pianola and reproducing piano coincide with the rise of a new musical genre described as a mixture of African and American elements: jazz. Romantic melodies and arrangements of classical pieces were certainly not the only music heard in bourgeois salons and parlours. Rolls with ragtime and other early forms of jazz and music we now label as vaudeville were very popular.

€ 5/4

Sunday, 20 May | 15.00 – 16.00 | Classical and Romantic Music
Rex Lawson (UK), pianola
Madeleine Easton (UK), violin

One of the reasons for the rapid success of the “Vorsetzer”, the first models that could be used to drive pianos mechanically, was that many households who did own a piano didn’t include someone who could really play it well. Anyone who has taken a few piano lessons knows full well how difficult Bach’s inventions are, let alone the exquisite music of Chopin, Liszt and Rachmaninov. Until it was replaced with the electric gramophone and the radio, the pianola brought this music into sitting rooms, without the help of conservatory-level pianists.

Speaking of conservatories, this concert will also include a demonstration of the so-called educative rolls. This is an example of the multimedia, before the term existed, as the text and images were presented next to the music on the rolls (“under the patronage of Mr. Auguste Gevaert, director of the Brussels conservatory”), thus explaining a specific theme such as “the sonatas of Schubert” to music students. They only needed to work the pedals, look and listen. We’ll place the camera on the roll and project the image for you on a large screen.

€ 5/4

More Pianola…

Friday, 8 June: Concert at Flagey “Rachmaninov is alive!”
Flemish Radio Orchestra with soloist Rex Lawson, pianola.
Info at www.vro-vrk.be. No ticket sales in the mim !

Sunday, 10 June | 15.00 – 16.00 | Twentieth-Century and Contemporary Music
Rex Lawson (UK) and Wolfgang Heisig (D), pianola
George Van Dam (B): violin

Though the rise of mass media starting in the 1930s could have meant the end for the costly and bulky mechanical pianola’s, music is still arranged and even composed for these instruments to this day. Possibly the most renowned twentieth-century composer who was fascinated with the possibilities of the player piano was Conlon Nancarrow (1912-1997). You’ll hear piano sounds that could never be played by human hands, such as in the fantastic Toccata with Ictus violinist George Van Dam. Wolfgang Heisig will present the Belgian creation of a work for pianola by our own Jacqueline Fontyn, alongside some of his own music.

€ 5/4

lectures & demonstrations

Sunday, 20 May | 13.30 – 14.30 | Rex Lawson: “My daughter has a great foot for music” (Lecture in English)

Edwin Scott Votey’s push-up pianola didn’t just appear out of nowhere in 1895. The innovation was an ingenious combination of previously existing techniques. Rex Lawson of the Pianola Institute in London will describe the place of the pianola in the development of mechanical musical instruments and then stress the musical riches that player pianos and mechanical reproducing pianos still offer. Both will be illustrated with recorded pieces and music performed live. A must for all those interested in the pianola phenomenon.

€ 2

Sunday, 10 June | 13.30 – 14.30 | Wolfgang Heisig: “Contemporary Pianola Music” (Lecture in English)

Wolfgang is a pianola roll publisher, composer and pianolist. His lecture will cover pianola repertoire from 1930 to the present. Wolfgang will also spice up his lecture with both previously-recorded music and live performances.

€ 2

guided tours

Tuesday, 15 May – Sunday, 10 June
From Tuesday, 15 May to Sunday, 10 June, you can make an appointment for your group (up to 15 people) for your own pianola rendezvous. A guide will provide a complete description of these wonderful instruments, including a few demonstrations. And, if there’s remaining time, you might even try working the pedals yourself.

  • Tuesday – Friday: €62 (1 guide for max. 15 people) + €4 museum admission per person
  • Saturday: €75 (1 guide for max. 15 people) + €4 museum admission per person
  • Reserve in advance at +32 2 545 01 53 or seed@mim.fgov.be

come and play

For adults

Friday, 18 May, 1 June and 8 June | 12.30 – 13.00

in Dutch & French; English-speakers can, of course, participate.

he great thing about the pianola is that you need not be a pianist to control the instrument, although it’s often such a delightful experience for pianists themselves to personally conjure up musical pieces on the piano that would normally be too challenging. Pianist or no pianist, anyone with an inkling of musical talent will be surprised how quickly preconceived notions about “mechanical” instruments disappear to make way for pure musical fun.

€2, Reserve in advance at +32 2 545 01 53 or seed@mim.fgov.be

Playtime for Kids

Wednesday, 6 June
13u30 – 14u30 in French
15.30 – 16.30 in Dutch

The pianola is not only an instrument that allows adults to rediscover the kid in themselves. During this guided session, children will hear text and explanations at their level about the pianola and will even get the chance to try out a sophisticated toy from the previous century.

€3, Sign up in advance at +32 2 545 01 53 or seed@mim.fgov.be

brunch

Sunday, 20 and 27 May, 3 and 10 June | 10.30 – 12.30

A brunch on the top floor of the Old England building with a breathtaking view of Brussels, accompanied by beautiful background piano music from the years when this art nouveau jewel had just begun to glitter on the Kunstberg.

Tempted? Get on the phone and reserve your table fast at +32 (0)2.502.95.08 or www.restomim.com.

agenda

concerts
conférences
visites guidées
venez jouer
brunch

concerts

mardi 15 mai | 12h30–13h30 | Jazz et musique légère
Rex Lawson (UK), pianola

La période florissante du pianola et des pianos mécaniques coïncida avec l’émergence d’un nouveau genre musical, décrit comme un mélange d’ingrédients africains et américains : le jazz. De fait, les salons bourgeois de l’époque ne résonnaient pas seulement de mélodies romantiques ou d’arrangements de pièces classiques. Les rouleaux de ragtime et d’autres formes de jazz de la première heure étaient également très populaires, tout comme la musique que l’on qualifierait aujourd’hui de variété.

€5/4

dimanche 20 mai | 15h–16h | Musique classique et romantique
Rex Lawson (UK), pianola
Madeleine Easton (UK), violon

Une des raisons du succès fulgurant des “Vorsetzer” – du nom des premiers modèles grâce auxquels le piano pouvait être actionné mécaniquement – c’était que de nombreuses familles possédaient bel et bien un piano mais que personne ne pouvait en jouer valablement. Ceux d’entre nous qui ont suivi quelques cours de piano savent combien il est difficile de jouer les Inventions à deux voix de Bach, et a fortiori la musique de Chopin, Liszt et Rachmaninov.

Jusqu’à ce qu’il soit remplacé par le gramophone et la radio, le pianola a introduit cette musique dans les foyers, sans l’intervention d’un pianiste ayant fait le conservatoire. Puisqu’il est question de conservatoire, sachez que durant ce concert, vous aurez droit à une démonstration de rouleaux “éducatifs”. Il s’agit de multimédia avant la lettre : à côté de la musique, certains rouleaux comportent aussi du texte et des illustrations (“sous le patronage de Monsieur Auguste Gevaert, directeur du Conservatoire de Bruxelles”) mettant en lumière un thème précis — comme, par exemple, les Sonates de Schubert — tout spécialement à l’intention des étudiants. Ils n’avaient dès lors plus qu’à appuyer sur les pédales, regarder et écouter. Pour l’occasion, une caméra sera braquée sur le rouleau et l’image projetée pour vous sur un grand écran.

€5/4

dimanche 10 juin | 15h–16h | Musique du XXe siècle et musique contemporaine
Rex Lawson (UK) et Wolfgang Heisig (D), pianola / George Van Dam (B), violon

L’apparition des mass media à partir des années 1930 aurait pu signifier la fin des pianos mécaniques, chers et encombrants. Pourtant, aujourd’hui encore, on arrange ou on compose de la musique pour ces instruments. Au XXe siècle, le compositeur le plus connu qui a été fasciné par les possibilités du “player piano”, s’appelait Conlon Nancarrow (1912-1997). Vous entendrez des sonorités de piano qui n’auraient jamais pu être générées par les mains de l’homme, comme dans la fantastique Toccata, avec George Van Dam, violoniste de l’ensemble Ictus. Wolfgang Heisig assurera la création belge d’une œuvre pour pianola de Jacqueline Fontyn.

€5/4

et encore…

Vendredi 8 juin: concert à flagey
Rachmaninov is alive! Vlaams radio orkest & Rex Lawson, pianola.
Info sur www.vro-vrk.be Pas de vente au mim!

conférences

dimanche 20 mai | 13h30–14h30 | Rex Lawson: “My Daughter Has A Great Foot For Music” (Conférence en anglais)

Le “push-up pianola” d’Edwin Scott Votey n’est pas subitement tombé du ciel en 1895, mais est le fruit de la géniale combinaison de plusieurs techniques déjà existantes. Rex Lawson, du Pianola Institute de Londres, replace le pianola dans l’évolution des instruments mécaniques, et met l’accent sur les richesses que nous offrent toujours les “player pianos” et autres pianos mécaniques. Ses propos seront rehaussés d’enregistrements et de musique live. Essentiel pour tous ceux qui s’intéressent au phénomène pianola.

€2

dimanche 10 juin | 13h30–14h30 | Wolfgang Heisig “Contemporary pianola music” (Conférence en anglais)

Wolfgang est éditeur de rouleaux pour pianola, compositeur et interprète au pianola. Sa conférence aura pour sujet le répertoire du pianola de 1930 à nos jours. Il pimentera lui aussi son intervention de musique, aussi bien préenregistrée que jouée en direct.

€2

visites guidées

mardi 15 mai – dimanche 10 juin

Du mardi 15 mai au dimanche 10 juin, vous pourrez fixer votre propre rendez-vous pianola, en groupe (jusqu’à 15 personnes). Un guide vous dira tout sur cet instrument formidable, l’un ou l’autre exemplaire sera essayé et, s’il reste du temps, vous pourrez peut-être vous mettre aux pédales.

  • mardi à vendredi: €62 (1 guide pour max 15 pers.) + €4 par personne (entrée au musée)
  • samedi: €75 (1 guide pour max 15 pers.) + €4 par personne (entrée au musée)
  • Réservation préalable au 02 545 01 53 ou via seed@mim.fgov.be

venez jouer!

pour adultes

vendredis 18 mai, 1er juin et 8 juin – 12h30–13h

attention!
Ces activités proposées en partenariat avec l’Onthaal en Promotie Brussel sont données en néerlandais. Les francophones peuvent bien entendu y participer.

Het leuke aan de pianola is dat je helemaal geen pianist hoeft te zijn om het instrument te besturen, al is het vaak precies voor pianisten zo’n verrukkelijke ervaring om eigenhandig muziekstukken uit de piano te toveren die normaal te hoog gegrepen zijn. Pianist of niet, iedereen met wat muzikale aanleg zal verrast zijn hoe snel het vooroordeel tegenover “mechanische” instrumenten wegsmelt en plaatsmaakt voor pure muzikale fun.

€2, Vooraf reserveren op 02 545 01 53 of seed@mim.fgov.be

pour enfants

mercredi 6 juin – 13h30—14h30

Le pianola n’est pas uniquement une affaire d’adultes. Durant cette cession, les enfants sont aussi conviés à participer activement. En plus d’explications adaptées à leur âge, les enfants pourront s’amuser avec ce jouet sophistiqué du siècle passé. Tout un programme !

€3, Inscription préalable au 02 545 01 33 ou via seed@mim.fgov.be

brunch

dimanches 20 et 27 mai, 3 et 10 juin | 10h30–12h30

Un brunch au dernier étage de l’Old England, avec vue imprenable sur Bruxelles, dans une ambiance piano des années où ce joyau art nouveau commençait juste à briller sur le Mont des Arts.

Ça vous dirait? Alors, réservez vite votre table au 02 502 95 08 ou www.restomim.com.