the rendez-vous

The year is 1899. While workers on the Brussels Mont des Arts are screwing the bolts into Paul Saintenoy’s steel structure for the clothing giant, Old England, the dockworkers in Antwerp are unloading the first “Aeolian player pianos” from the New York Red Star Line onto the quay. Pianolas rapidly adorned many well-to-do salons and even the music-loving Elisabeth of Belgium received her own mechanical piano.

Now, let’s turn the calendar forward to May 2007: on the occasion of the Queen Elisabeth Competition for piano, the Musical Instruments Museum, the current inhabitant of the Old England building, invites you to a pianola rendezvous. This exhibit presenting different types of mechanical pianos, one of which is the “Autopiano” from the estate of Her Majesty the Queen Elisabeth, will give you the chance to enjoy a musical moment listening to a recital, a lecture-demonstration or to try your own hand at this amazing technique.

The key figure in this series of activities is Rex Lawson, a man who has devoted his life to the pianola. Rex is one of the most highly revered performers and is an authority on all matters surrounding mechanically produced piano playing. He is among the directors of The Pianola Institute in London, whose goal is to restore esteem for the musical prowesses of these instruments.

le rendez-vous

Nous sommes en 1899. Tandis qu’à Bruxelles, au Mont des Arts, les ouvriers boulonnent la construction métallique de Paul Saintenoy pour le compte des gigantesques grands magasins Old England, au même moment, à Anvers, les dockers mettent à quai les premiers “Aeolian player pianos” fraîchement arrivés de New York via la Red Star Line. Rapidement, les pianolas trônent dans tous les salons dignes de ce nom, et la très mélomane Reine élisabeth de Belgique fait l’acquisition de son propre piano mécanique.

Tournons le calendrier jusqu’au mois de mai 2007: à l’occasion du Concours Reine Élisabeth pour piano 2007, le mim — actuel occupant de l’Old England — vous invite à son rendez-vous pianola. Vous pourrez y profiter, comme dans un véritable salon bourgeois 1900, d’un “moment musical” autour du piano mécanique, vous essayer à ce prodige de la technique ou savourer un brunch dans son magnifique restaurant. Cerise sur le gâteau, le pianola que la Reine Élisabeth a laissé en héritage vous sera proposé en exclusivité.

Afin d’organiser ce rendez-vous de belle manière, le mim s’est adjoint la précieuse collaboration de Rex Lawson, un homme qui consacre toute sa vie au pianola. Rex est l’un des interprètes les plus réputés sur le pianola et une autorité pour tout ce qui concerne le rendu mécanique du jeu de piano. Il est l’une des figures-clés du Pianola Institute de Londres, une association oeuvrant pour la revalorisation des capacités musicales de ce type d’instrument.